#693 – When I Grow Up I Want to be . . . a Veterinarian by WIGU Publishing

cover.
.
When I Grow Up I Want To Be…a Veterinarian!: Sofia’s Dream Comes True!

Series: When I Grow Up
Written and illustrated by WIGU Publishing
WIGU Publishing        12/08/2014
978-1-93997314-6
56 pages            Age 7—12
.
.
“Sofia wants to care for all the animals in the world. But Mom does not think Sofia is ready for the responsibility of even one pet. Ready or not, when a hungry and sick-looking cat appears at the family’s back doorstep, Sofia takes action. When Sofia is found feeding the cat, Mom gives in and agrees that a trip to the vet will tell them if the cat is healthy and not someone’s lost pet. As the veterinarian introduces Sofia and readers to the important and wide-ranging work of animal doctors, Sofia learns how she might help all kinds of animals, including a little stray cat!” [back cover]

Review
Like every kid, at some time in his or her life, Sofia desperately wants a pet and wants to rescue one from the animal hospital. Mom sternly responds, “No,” after every plea. I suspect many kids will relate to this situation. Dad tells Sofia gets her love of animals from Mom, which made mom’s stern and resolute rejections surprising to me,

WIGU_VET_FINAL_page32_image8

“. . . the answer was always ‘No. And I mean it, Sofia!’ . . . and she meant it.”

Mom’s reluctance must be due to something she went through as she has some definite opinions about caring for pets. While looking outside at the soaking wet cat, mom says:

WIGU_VET_FINAL_page32_image14

“People should be more responsible about animals.”
“There are too many unwanted animals running around.”

Veterinarian does not delve into the reasons behind the above statements; instead letting Sofia remark that she cannot believe any pet could be unwanted. I agree with Mom and Sofia. Bringing a pet into the family is a big decision, and includes much more than housing, feeding and knowing home remedies for sick cats. But Veterinarian is about the career, not the social issues. Continuing with the story, mom finally tells Sofia her reasons for saying no: she does not think the family is ready for a pet. But then it rained.

“It rained cats and dogs.”

WIGU_VET_FINAL_page32_image18

That night it really did rain cats . . . one little, hungry, “sorry-looking,” water-soaked cat. To Sofia’s amazement, her mother was also upset and concerned about the cat. With dad taking the lead, mom agrees to take the cat—now called Samantha—to Dr. Helen, a veterinarian.

Dr. Helen looks for a microchip, listens to Samantha’s heart, weighs her, and then tells Sofia, there are an estimated 10 million different kinds of animal species on Earth . . . that we know of. Much of our planet is unexplored—mostly underwater—and there are animals we have not seen, and some we never will. I did not know this, which is why I love the WIGU series—I learn something with each edition.

WIGU_VET_FINAL_page32_image490

Dr. Helen gives a short history of cats and dogs. Cats first became household “pets” 3,000 years ago in Egypt, where they were worship (cats kept rodents out of the grain and hunted dangerous snakes, including cobras). Dogs, as pets, began roughly 33,000 years ago. Dogs were valued for their companionship and keen senses—hearing, sight, smell—that helped protect humans. Dr. Helen told Sofia cats are the most popular pet (2:1 dogs), yet veterinarians treat more dogs than they do cats. No explanations are given.

combo

As with the other When I Grow Up editions, Veterinarian is loaded with useful information kids will enjoy reading, can use as a reference, or when exploring possible careers. Teachers can use this series as adjunct texts. In Veterinarian, Dr. Helen describes many areas of specialization and the road to becoming a veterinarian. The illustrations are a combination of actual photographs and digital images. On the cover, I adore Samantha’s contented look on her face as Sofia hugs her.

contented cat samantha

In the end, Sofia decides she wants to become a veterinarian. The family decides to keep Samantha, even with the funny, unexpected twist. Veterinarian’s tone is positive and it highlights the best about being a vet. This is my favorite edition thus far. Wigu Publishing is planning to explore more careers for the When I Grow Up series and is working on Spanish versions. Every school should have this series, keeping room for new editions. The When I Grow Up series might go on forever.

WIGU_VET_FINAL_page32_image24

WHEN I GROW UP I WANT TO BE A . . . VETERINARIAN. Text copyright © 2014 by Wigu Publishing. Illustrations copyright © 2014 by Wigu Publishing. Reproduced by permission of the publisher, Wigu Publishing, Sun Valley, ID.

lg span vet

Purchase WIGU I Want to be a . . . Veterinarian at AmazonBook DepositoryWIGU Publishing.

Learn more about WIGU I Want to be a . . . Veterinarian HERE.
Meet the author/illustrator, Wigu Publishing, at their website:  http://bit.ly/WIGUTeam
Find more picture books at the Wigu Publishing website:  http://whenigrowupbooks.com/

.Spanish Edition
[Amazon]
sS

When I Grow Up . . . Books

army

span army

.

.

in the U. S. Army [review here]

.

teacher.

.

a Teacher [review here]

.

firfighter..

.

a Firefighter  [review here]

.navy

.

in the U. S. Navy  [review here]

.

nurse.

.

a Nurse  [reviewed soon]

.

Review Section: word count = 543

Copyright © 2015 by Sue Morris/Kid Lit Reviews. All Rights Reserved

WIGU- VET

Advertisements

#574 – When I Grow Up, I Want to be . . . in the U. S. Navy!: Noah Tours an Aircraft Carrier by Wigu Publishing

Before we start today’s review, I wanted to let parents and kids know about a summer program they might enjoy and earn some bucks! Wigu Publishing is sponsoring a summer initiative called the WIGU Summer Superstars.

summerstars

Kids can earn money by reading and writing all summer long. Read 20 minutes a day and you could win a $20 Amazon gift certificate or $100 cash. Those who prefer to write can win a $25 or $100 Amazon gift card and their school library can win $1000 donation from Pick Up Please Harahan. For more information Go HERE and start your summer off right!

wigu navy.

When I Grow Up I Want To Be…in the U.S. Navy!: Noah Tours an Aircraft Carrier!

Wigu Publishing

Wigu Publishing      2014

978-939973-02-3

Age 7+         58 pages

.

“Noah is excited for the chance to tour a real aircraft carrier with his Grandpa Ed, a proud Navy veteran. He is not excited that his little sister, Marina, is tagging alone. Still, Noah tries to be patient. Readers chuckle and follow along as the siblings learn that each deck, each crewmember, and each piece of equipment adds another chapter to the history of the U.S. Navy and its mission to protect our country. Noah and Marina’s curiosity helps introduce readers to the complex and exciting work of an aircraft carrier and how each crewmember plays a vital role in its functioning.”

Opening

“Noah was excited. A U.S. Navy aircraft carrier had come into port. Everyone was invited to visit. Noah’s Grandpa Ed promised to take him!”

Review

WIGO_USNAVY_page32_image7Noah and his Grandpa Ed—plus a tag-a-long younger sister, Marina—visit a U.S. Navy aircraft carrier while it is in port. Quickly into the story are pictures of the Navy Seals, helicopters landing, and planes taking WIGO_USNAVY_page32_image71off from a carrier, and a huge gold anchor. The diagramed USS Gerald Ford should interest model ship-builders. Throughout . . . in the Navy, various photographs visualize life on an aircraft carrier; what it is, who is on one, and why it exists. The general theme is protection of the U.S.

If you talk about ships, kids often think about pirates. Noah is no different. He learns pirates do still roam the oceans, marauding ships for their WIGO_USNAVY_page32_image62goods. Marina is pleased to learn there were girl pirates then and possibly now.

The three tour most of the important decks, including the bridge, flight deck, bunks, and the cafeteria where it smelled of French fries and, yes Marina, ketchup was available. Marina deliversWIGO_USNAVY_page32_image84 the majority of humor, though Grandpa Ed has a few good lines, most of which adults will catch faster than kids will. By the end of the book, both kids have decided the U.S. Navy is for them. Noah plans to be a pilot, while Marina decides to be a captain, taking the title right then. Both Noah and Captain Marina have a great time visiting the aircraft carrier. There is a thread left hanging:  was Grandpa Ed ever in the brig?

WIGO_USNAVY_page32_image85Boys will especially enjoy . . . in the Navy, though girls should check it out as well. . . . in the Navy includes illustrations of every current type of aircraft carrier used by the U.S. Navy. This Wigu edition makes a nice adjunct text for teachers planning lessons about the military.

As with the other When I Grow Up editions, in the Navy is loaded with useful information kids will enjoy. Whether as a reference or looking for a career, kids will find in the Navy useful. It is one more edition in the ever-growing series of When I Grow Up series that can help kids think about their future . . . until they change their mind. But that’s okay. Wigu publishing is planning tons more books for this series, so kids can keep changing their minds until they can say, “This is what I what to be when I grow up!”

1111

WHEN I GROW UP, I WANT TO BE . . . IN THE NAVY!:  NOAH TOURS AN AIRCRAFT CARRIER. Text and illustrations copyright © 2014 by Wigu Publishing. Reproduced by permission of Wigu Publishing, Laguna Beach, CA.

Buy . . . in the Navy and other editions at Amazon—B&N—Wigu Publishingyour local bookstore.

.

Learn more about the When I Grow Up series HERE.

Find other When I Grow Up editions at the Wigu Publisher’s website:  http://whenigrowupbooks.com/

.

Current WIGU Editions

When I Grow Up, I Want to be . . . in the U.S. Army

When I Grow Up, I Want to be . . . in the U.S. Armyreviewed HERE

 

When I Grow Up, I Want to be . . . a Teacher!

When I Grow Up, I Want to be . . . a Teacher!

When I Grow Up, I Want to be . . . a Firefighter!

When I Grow Up, I Want to be . . . a Firefighter!

Reviews:

US Army

Teacher

Firefighter

 

 

Upcoming Editions

When I Grow Up, I Want to be . . . a Good Person!

When I Grow Up, I Want to be . . . a Good Person!

 

 

 

 

 

. . . be a Rock Star!

. . . be  Veterinarian

. . . to be Green!

. . . be a World Travel!

. . . be a Race Car Driver!

.

.

wigu in the us navy

summer-superstars-banner-top-1024x253

#532 – When I Grow Up I Want to be . . . a Firefighter! by WIGU Publishing

WIGU firefighter.

When I Grow Up I Want To Be…a Firefighter!

by WIGU Publishing

978-1-939973-11-5

2014

Age 6 to 10       60 pages

..

“Will was excited to go on his class field trip, until he learned they would be touring the local firehouse. Now, he is dreading the trip. For as long as he can remember, Will has been afraid of fire and, worse than that, firefighters! Though he knows firefighters are heroes who do dangerous work, to him they are giants in heavy coats and masks. Can Will overcome his fears and maybe even learn something surprising about himself?”

Opening

“Will was sitting in his classroom at school when his teacher, Miss Elyse, made the announcement.”

The Story

Will’s class is going on a field trip to a firehouse. Will is afraid of fire and firefighters. Firefighters are right up there with monsters, even though he knows firefighters are heroes who protect our stuff and us. Still, firefighters are “huge” plus “they run out of the smoke and fire swinging axes.” On the bus, Will still worries about the trip. His friend Tommy is all excited, ready for anything.

111111111bbbb

A fireman wearing a baseball cap and a t-shirt, not a mask and a giant coat, greet the kids. Will tries to convince himself the fireman is not scary, but this one is the Captain. The Captain tells the kids the firefighters train hard, and that the six firefighters at this firehouse are “First Responders.” Will sees that the firehouse is also the firefighter’s home while on duty. As he begins to relax, Will imagines himself as “Captain Will,” the firefighter with the biggest office. The firefighters also have some cool stuff, like a shiny fire pole and two Dalmatians. Who knew they could have pets?

Out of nowhere, a firefighter slides down the gold fire pole, in full firefighter gear. Captain Kirby said, “Did you know that a lot of kids are frightened of firefighters?” Will understands. The firefighter crawls toward the kids, as if saving them in a fire, making at least one jump back. When the mask finally comes off, Will decides the firefighter is not at all scary-looking. Before the kids climb back in their school bus, Will helps aim the fire hose, receives a Junior Firefighter Badge, and hops up onto the fire engine—in the driver’s seat!

44444444

Review

When I Grow Up I Want to be . . . a Firefighter stands up to its predecessors—be in the Army and be a Teacher. If anything, the series is getting better. Will is a believable character. He gradually lets down his guard as he learns more about firefighters. Will’s fear of the GIANT firefighter was shattered as the firefighter, who suddenly slides down the fire pole, and crawls toward the kids, scaring a few, turns out to be . . . a girl! Even the Captain, wearing a t-shirt and baseball cap, looked normal. Will shares many of his thoughts along the way, yet I am guessing one thought he doesn’t share is, “why was I scared to come here today?” It is evident in his posture and his face that he is finally having fun.

333333333

Packed with career details, I Want to be . . . a Firefighter brings the firefighter down to kid level, erasing any fear that can be induce when they wear their full gear. From the contents of the typical firehouse, to various emergency response vehicles, Will, and the reader, learns what it takes to be a firefighter and what the job entails. As a take-away, there is s Home Safety Check List and a sample Home Escape Plan in the back of the book.

WHEN I GROW UP I WANT TO BE  . . . FIREFIGHTER. Text and illustration copyright © 2014 by WIGU Publishing. Reproduced by permission of the publisher, WIGU Publishing, Laguna Beach, CA.

.

Learn more about When I Grow Up I Want to be . . .  series HERE.

Buy I Want to be . . . a Firefighter at AmazonB&NWIGU Publishersyour local bookstore.

Learn more about the uthor, illustrator and publisher WIGU Publishing at their website:  http://whenigrowupbooks.com/

..

Coming Soon from WIGU Publishing

. . . be in the Navy!

. . . be in the Navy!

. . . be a Good Person

. . . be a Good Person.

. . . be a Rock Star!

. . . be  Veterinarian

. . . to be Green!

. . . be a World Travel!

. . . be a Race Car Driver!

.

.

wigu firefighter

#689 – Dress Me! by Sarah Frances Hardy

CBW-email-childrens_2015

 

IMAGE 1X
X

Dress Me!

Written by Sarah Frances Hardy
Illustrated by Sarah Frances Hardy
Sky Pony Press           5/05/2015
978-1-63220-823-3
20 pages               Age 3—7
X
X
“This little girl can be a lawyer, doctor, superhero, or plumber. She can be graceful, creative, brave, caring, silly, and even scary. She can wear braids or glasses, a crown or a beret. There are infinite, limitless possibilities, and this little girl gets to choose who and what she wants to be. And there’s always the option for her to be ‘just me.’ From the author/illustrator of Paint Me! comes a delightful, imaginative story about a little girl with some incredible aspirations.” [book jacket]

Review
The nameless young girl, along with her loyal puppy, take readers through part of their day as they move from room-to-room, outfit-to-outfit, and activity-to-activity. They start their day deciding what to wear. Deciding to start with some exercise, the girl pulls down her pink tutu, matching top, a violet sash, and . . . wait, what about her feet? No worries, pup has fetched the girl’s pink ballet slippers, dutifully waiting for his friend to slip them on her feet. With a high twirl and a long leap the pair dance, never out of step. The young girl and her dog take on a gamut of outfits (tutu, smock, scrubs, dresses, and masks), and identities (artist, teacher, lawyer, diva, builder, or plumber), as they dance, paint, fly through the air, and take lunch orders.

Dress Me! interior 1pass JAM_page19_image17

Older children have books such as WIGU Publishing’s When I Grow Up I Want to be a . . . series to help them decide what they might like to become. Dress Me does the same for younger children, in terms they y understand. More than that, Dress Me is about being yourself while enjoying who you are, right now. The illustrations tell the majority of the story. I like that Dress Me leaves much of the narration to the reader—or he young listener. While the young girl teaches a couch full of attentive stuffed animals (and one real puppy), the text reads,

“Teacher me.”

I like that kids can decide why the girl is teaching, what she is teaching, and to whom she, dong a great job of blending in to the scene. Pup does the same in this scene. Dress Me will appeal to young girls more than boys, even though Hardy includes male-oriented careers and activities boys enjoy. The illustrations are delightful. Each spread is loaded with detail, adding continuity by carrying items from one spread to the next. For example, the puppy pulls a blue-striped tie from the laundry basket. In the next image he wears the tie while pretending to be in court, on the wrong side of the young girl’s law. She has pushed a pair of glasses atop her head while waitressing and worn correctly as a teacher.

Dress Me is the perfect book for preschoolers beginning to self-explore their world and their place in it. Parents will appreciate the creativity Dress Me can inspire in young girls, who will begin to think out of their prescribed female roles. More importantly, Dress Me encourages young girls to enthusiastically be themselves.

Dress Me! interior 1pass JAM_page19_image14

A final note: the illustrations are the best yet from Hardy who improves with each book. Dress Me! is Hardy’s third book. Her others are Paint Me! and Puzzled by Pink (reviewed HERE).

DRESS ME! Text and illustrations copyright © 2015 by Sarah Frances Hardy. Reproduced by permission of the publisher, Sky Pony Press, New York, NY.

Purchase Dress Me! at AmazonBook DepositorySky Pony Press.

Learn more about Dress Me! HERE.
Meet the author/illustrator, Sarah Frances Hardy:
Website:  http://www.sfhardy.com/
Blog:  http://sfhardy.blogspot.com/
Facebook:  http://bit.ly/SarahFrancesHardyFacebook
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/sfhardy2
Find more picture books at the Sky Pony Press website:  http://www.skyponypress.com/

Sky Pony Press is an imprint of Sky Horse Publishing

Also by Sarah Frances Hardy

Paint Me!

Paint Me!

Puzzled by Pink

Puzzled by Pink

 

x

x

Review word count = 455

Copyright © 2015 by Sue Morris/Kid Lit Reviews.

x
dress me ftc

10 for 10: 2014 Nonfiction Challenge

This is my non-review say, making it the best to join a one-day event called the 10 for 10: 2014 Nonfiction Book Challenge. Which 10 nonfiction books could I not live without in 2014? This is brought to you by the beautiful minds of Cathy MereReflect & RefineMandy RobekEnjoy & Embrace Learning—and Julie BalenWrite at the Edge.  Here are the rules:

  • What:  10 nonfiction books you can’t live without
  • Hashtag:  #nf10for10
  • Who:  Anyone interested — educators, media specialists, librarians, parents, etc.
  • When:  Wednesday, February 19th 
  • Where:  All posts will need to be linked at Write at the Edge.  Then I will move them into a jog resource during the week of the event.

10x10

As you can see, I am a day late. Is that really new for me.  Well, even though I already had a commitment for yesterday I still wanted to take part, so here is my list of 10 favorite nonfiction books, in no particular order:

On a Beam of Light

.
.
.
.
1.  On a Beam of Light by Jennifer Berne  & Vladimir Radunsky – Chronicle Books
.
.

crazy car poems
.
.
2. Poem-Mobiles: Crazy Car Poems by J. Patrick Lewis and Douglas Florian & Jeremy Holmes – Schwartz & Wade Books
.
.

wisdoom
.
.
.

3. Wisdom by Darcy Pattison & Kitty Harvill – Mims House
.
.

press here
.
.
.

4. Un Livre : Press Here by Herve Tullet – Chronicle Books
.

pulllman porter
.
.

5. The Pullman Porter by Vanita Oelschlager & Mike Blanc – Vanita Books
.
.

becoming babe ruth
.
.
.
.

6. Becoming Babe Ruth by Matt Tavares – Candlewick Press

9780983290490_cover
.
.
.

7. Ariel Bradley, Spy for General Washington By Lynda Durrant & Joe Rossi – Vanita Books
.
.
Darling mercy dao WWI
.
.
.8. Dog Chronicles: Darling, Mercy Dog of World War I By Alison Hart & Michael Montgomery – Peachtree Publlishers
.
.

We Love California
.
.
.

9. We Love California! by Gabriella Francine with Solara Vayanian & Phil Velikan – Big Blue Marble Books

ArmyBookcover
.
.
.

10. When I Grow Up I Want to Be . . . in the U.S. Army by Mark Shyres and Debbie Hefke – Wigu Publishing

Now, my dear readers what are the 10 nonfiction books you could not live without or are your favorite?  I had a hard time narrowing it down to 10, and the list will change as the year progresses and I hear of, or am sent, other great nonfiction books for children and middle graders.

I will hopefully have the energy to write a review later today. It is now almost 4 AM. Reviewing is a tough job.  🙂   If you do not see a review tomorrow,  you most certainly will on Saturday, but I am betting my strength will find its way back, considering the book I want to tell you about next.  It is one of those 10 above. Can you guess which one?  I’d put this one at or near number 1 on the list above.

See you tomorrow.

#500 – When I Grow Up, I Want to Be . . . a Teacher! by Mark Shyres & Debbie Hefke

grow up teaqcher.

When I Grow Up I Want To Be…a Teacher!

by Mark Shyres & Debbie Hefke, co-illustrator

Wigu Publishing       02/04/2014

978-1-939973-08-5

Age 7-12          64 pages

.

Back Cover

“Carlee always wanted to be a teacher when she grew up, until her mother is hired as a teacher at her school! Some of her friends are even in her mother’s class. Carlee is worried. What will her friends say? Will her mother do something to embarrass her? Carlee vows to never to become a teacher like her mother, but as she journeys through the first day of school with her own new teacher, Carlee makes some surprising discoveries.”

Opening

“Carlee always wanted to be a teacher and she always loved starting a new school year. Not anymore.”

The Story

Carlee is anxious about the first day of school. In her way of thinking, this day will be the worst of her life. Why? Carlee’s mother is starting a new job today . . . at Carlee’s school . . . as a teacher . . . teaching some of Carlee’s friends! Carlee even takes the school bus when she could have taken a ride with mom to school. On the bus, Carlee ignores a friend. Walking into the school, Carlee lowers her head. She decides she is not going to be a teacher, even though it was all she wanted to be yesterday. Today, her mom is at her school, teaching her friends, and she never wants to do that to her kids.

daydreaming

Carlee took on a brighter disposition sitting in her new classroom. With each new subject the teacher, Mrs. Frank, talked about, Carlee envisioned the things she could do instead of being a teacher, because she is never going to be a teacher. In geography, Carlee saw herself as an explorer, traveling new lands like Lewis and Clark did in the western U.S. or Marco Polo did—for 34 years— in Asia. Marco Polo even wrote about what he saw, and what he learned, inspiring Christopher Columbus.

History class had Carlee seeing herself as an astronaut like Neil Armstrong, the first man to walk on the moon. She could run for president of the U. S. and meet people like Martin Luther King, because she was never going to be a teacher, like her mother. Carlee continued to imagine herself in all sorts of careers based on her day. In P.E. class, Carlee thought she might be a soccer champion or an Olympic swimmer . . . if she got good at sports. In art class, Carlee thought she might be a famous artist like Leonardo da Vinci. Carlee would learn math and become a banker like Alexander Hamilton, who was the first Secretary of the Treasury. Men like Galileo and Albert Einstein did great things with math; she could too, because Carlee was never going to be a teacher. The librarian, who Carlee helped the year said,

“Carlee, I understand your mother is a new teacher here. That must be exciting.”

library

Carlee just knew everyone heard the librarian, making her want to shrink to the size of a book. Carlee was never going to be a teacher, and now, she was never going to be a librarian. Finally, the first day of school was over. Relived, Carlee thought that maybe school would not be so horrible after all. Then Carlee’s friend Ava walked out of mom’s classroom and called Carlee over. Carlee walked faster, fearful of what Ava would say about the new teacher. Ava caught up to Carrie and said . . .

Review

In When I Grow Up, I Want to Be . . . a Teacher! Carlee always wanted to be a teacher until the day her mother begins teaching at her school. Like many kids her age, Carlee is self-conscious about her parents, rarely happy for others to see her with them. Image if, when you were that age and your mother began teaching in your school and taught your friends. Mortified is a word that comes to mind, and embarrassed. Carlee’s mother, who has yet to do anything embarrassing, nonetheless embarrasses Carlee. Reality means nothing. What matters is what Carlee imagines and she imagines her mother doing the wrong thing and other students laughing. If they laugh at her mother, they laugh at her.

artsy

Carlee even takes it out on the librarian when she remarks how exciting having mom teach at the school must be for Carlee. Carlee immediately dismisses librarian as an alternative career to teacher. She is never going to be either now. The entire story plays out in Carlee’s head. I think the author nailed the character. Kids at that age, dare I say especially girls, prefer to have been raised by wolves than by their parents. I like how the author weaves historic figures into the story and then has Carlee consider alternative careers based on those people. Kids reading Carlee’s story should remember some of this history, despite themselves.

When I Grow up I Want to Be . . . is a wonderful series for this very reason. Kids will enjoy the stories and learn at the same time. Teachers can use these books to introduce students to different careers and people in that career, as in I Want to be in the Army, or various historic people as in I Want to Be a Teacher. I guess one could call this series a “twofer,” in that you get a good story and a lesson all wrapped up between two colorful covers.

“When I Grow Up” ~~ Shirley Temple (R.I.P.)

.

Learn more about the When I Grow Up I Want to be a . . . series HERE.

To add When I Grow Up, I Want to Be . . . a Teacher! to your collection go to AmazonB&NWigu Publishingask your local bookstore.

.

Read about the author/illustrator, Mark Shyres:      linkedin    wigu bio     wigu tree

Read about the illustrator, Debbie Hefke:      website    linkedin    pinterest    deviantart    donanza    freelanced       wigu bio

Check out Wigu Publishing:       website    facebook     twitter     pinterest         goodreads     shelfari

WHEN I GROW UP I WANT TO BE . . . A TEACHER. Text copyright © 2014 by Mark Shyres. Illustrations copyright © 2014 by Mark Shyres and Debbie Hefke. Reproduced by permission of the publisher Wigu Publishing, Laguna Beach, CA.

Other titles in the I Want to Grow Up to Be . . . Series

frcs.

.

.

.

.

.

.

COMING LATER THIS YEAR 

. . . a Race Car Driver

. . . a Nurse

. . . a Veterinarian

. . . a Good Person

. . . in the US Air Force

.

.

GROW UP TEACHER

#491 – When I Grow Up I Want to Be . . . in the U.S. Army by Mark Shyres and Debbie Hefke

ArmyBookcover.

When I Grow Up I Want To Be…in the U.S. Army!

by Mark Shyres and Debbie Hefke, illustrator

Wigu Publishing   2013

978-1-939973-05-4

Age 7 to 9      54 pages

.

Back Cover

“When Jake’s teacher assigns a “career” project, Jake decides he wants to be a soldier in the United States Army. Jake and his father visit an Army surplus store to find items he can use to present his project. As they search the store, each item makes the history and proud spirit of the U.S. Army come to life for Jake and readers alike. Through Jake’s discoveries, readers are introduced to the history of the U.S. Army, what soldiers’ duties include, and the equipment hey use.”

Opening

“This is the story of a boy named Jake. Jake has a school project: “What do you want to be when you grow up?” Jake picks a soldier in the U.S. Army. Here is how he learned all about it.”

Review

When I Grow Up I Want to Be . . . in the U.S. Army is the first in a series of vocational books for kids. I have never seen vocational books like these. In this first book, the teacher assigns Jake a career project. He is to decide what he wants to be when he grows up and present it to his class. Jake has chosen to show his class what being in the U.S. Army looks like. With his father, Jake goes to an Army surplus store and gets everything he needs to look enlisted in the U.S. Army.

fr3

I like the idea of the surplus store. Having been in one, I know the massive amount of military items most carry. This is definitely true for Jake and his father. The surplus store had medals, emblems, stripes, hats, boots, uniforms, gas masks, weapons, and most anything else associated with the army. Jake had a great time picking out his outfit while at the same time learning the history of the U.S. Army.

Young boys will certainly like When I Grow Up I Want to Be . . . in the U.S. Army, but don’t count out young girls. While the equipment and gear is all male oriented, girls interested in the military will see the universal appeal. Boys who are reluctant readers will love this series. Most words are simple and the unusual words are included in a glossary at the back of the book.

fr1

In addition to the illustrations, there are photographs depicting the U.S. Army, its history, and some of the roles students can consider. Beginning with a photograph of the inside of a surplus store, shot through a window, the photographs then include the Liberty Bell in all its cracked glory, officers in their dress uniforms, and marching soldiers at boot camp. A board of patches and emblems representing all areas of the army stretches several feet high. There is even a photograph of a well-known four-star general.

The illustrations are terrific. I like the sparkle in Jake’s eyes. His enthusiasm never wanes. A drill sergeant set in stone will keep Jake on his toes. I particularly like two illustrations, both of Jake. In one, Jake tries on a helmet and his eyes disappear, nicely showing the size of a helmet in comparison to the size of a young boy’s head. The other shows a wide-eyed Jake pointing like an iconic recruitment poster that says, “The U. S. Army wants YOU!”  All of the illustrations elevate this book to a much higher level of quality.

fr2

Parents and teachers will love the When I Grow Up I Want to Be . . .  series of books. The illustrations and stories make the careers easier to understand, helping kids make better-informed choices. Add in all the other When I Grow Up I Want to Be . . . books in the series, and those that will be published in the coming years, and kids will have a vocational encyclopedia of careers to consider. Teachers can incorporate one or more of the series in their teaching plan for the year. I think the When I Grow Up I Want to Be . . . series could become the set young kids turn to first when thinking of their future. I would not base a career choice solely on this series, but for young children, it is a great place to begin.

.

Learn more about When I Grow Up I Want to Be . . . in the U.S. Army! HERE.

Purchase When I Grow Up I Want to Be . . . in the U.S. Army! at AmazonPublisherat your local bookstore.

.

Find out more about the author/illustrator, Mark Shyres:    linkedin    wigu bio

Find out more about the illustrator, Debbie Hefke:    website    linkedin    pinterest    deviantart    donanza    freelanced       wigu bio

Learn more about the publisher, Wigu Publishing:    website    facebook     twitter     pinterest

.

WHEN I GROW UP I WANT TO BE . . . IN THE U.S. ARMY!  Text copyright © 2013 by Mark Shyres. Illustrations copyright © by Mark Shyres and Debbie Hefke. Reproduced by permission of the publisher, Wigu Publishing, Laguna Beach, CA.

 

Other titles in the I Want to Grow Up to Be . . . Series

cfr                                                                                                          

.COMING LATER THIS YEAR 

. . . a Race Car Driver

. . . a Nurse

. . . a Veterinarian

. . . a Good Person

. . . in the US Air Force

.

grow up us army